Autumn in Kabul 2012

Salma faceting a gemstone, peridot at Turquoise Mountain’s Institute for Afghan Arts & Architecture, Kabul, Afghanistan.

 

I am very excited to be returning to Kabul later this month. The reason for my return is that for the past two years, since my first visit to Kabul, I have been involved in developing a project to take skilled and semi-skilled Afghan gem-cutters and jewellers to Jaipur for apprenticeship style training and skills enhancement. This project is about to get underway and I am very much looking forward to continuing my engagement with the developing jewellery industry in Afghanistan and to get to work with some very talented individuals as they take their skills to the next level.

Watch this space.

This entry was posted in Culture, Design, Jewellery, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment